Warning: Use of undefined constant mtg_auto_load - assumed 'mtg_auto_load' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/mtgphilo/public_html/apanel/class/loader.php on line 5
MTG Philippines



May 26, 2008

More than 200 teachers and educators attended the 2008 National Convention for the Math Educators held on May 16-18, 2008 at the Holy Name University in Tagbilaran City, Bohol. The participants composed mostly of math teachers and some department heads/coordinators, and math supervisors had come from all over the regions in the Philippines to get updates of the contents of the theme, “Improving Access to International Mathematics Competitions”.

The said convention was organized by the Mathematics Trainer’s Guild (MTG), Philippines in coordination with Phoenix Publishing House, Inc. in order to provide teachers with clear perspectives with regard to the challenges posed by the international mathematics competitions to mathematics curriculum, training programs, teaching competence and skill development of the students. It was also aimed to provide an in-depth experience to math teachers on the international standard math contest problems and enhance their perspective on the impact of coherent development of mathematical skills at the classroom level to the challenges of the international mathematics competitions.

The convention started with an opening program which was followed by a plenary session handled singly by Prof. Josefina Fonacier of UPNISMED. The participants from the elementary and high school levels had been placed in separate sessions to provide for a more conducive atmosphere. Among the speakers/lecturers were Ir. Ridwan Hasan Saputra, a reputable Indonesian math educator, Mr, Glen Ong, an honorable mention in 1994 IMO, Dr. Simon Chua, MTG President, other MTG officers composed of Prof. Rechilda Villame, Dr. Isidro Aguilar, Prof. Roberto Degolacion and MTG coordinator of Iloilo City Prof. Jonathan Glorial.

Furthermore, the MTG gave a Trainers’ Qualifying Examination on those interested to be trainers of the Mathematical Challenge for Filipino Kids Training Program. The top scorers were given certificates of proficiency during the closing ceremonies while the two topnotchers were given Php.2000.00 plus calculators courtesy of the major sponsor, Sharp Calculators.

The participants received material kits sponsored by the Sharp Calculators and Phoenix Publishing House, CD’s containing the lectures, t-shirts while members got a copy each of MTG Gazette. They also chanced to tour the idyllic Bohol including the breathtaking view of Chocolate Hills, took lunch at the famous floating restaurants at Loboc River where the endemic tarsiers can be seen and visited other historical places.

1. Ramil A. Escaso Bohol International Learning Center
2. Ruth M. Patangan Oro Christian Grace School
3. Rolando Labalan Canossa Academy
4. Alfred Orosco St. Francis of Assisi College
5. Ma. Jamsin T. Dullete Las Pi?as East National High School
6. Marlon C. Pecson BESTCAP Career College, Inc.
7. Benjielito M. Mallari Colegio San Agustin – Makati
8. Ruben S. Antonio BESTCAP Career College, Inc.
9. Almira Lacsina Las Pi?as East National High School
10. Mary Bee Adio Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo
11. Girlie A. Cala-or Alejo Posadas Memorial Elementary School
12. Collin G. Sales Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo
13. Purisima B. Balbin Bagong San Roque Elementary School
14. Vilma D. Serrano Las Pi?as North National High
15. Alvi T. Sumbanon Madanlog Primary School
16. Elizabeth D. Leysa Oro Christian Grace School
17. Sue?o Luzada Jr. DepEd, Division of Camarines Sur
18. Bernardo G. Capili SPED – Olongapo City
19. Annabelle A. Rapliza Lanao Chung Hua School
20. Renz R. Guerrero Philadelphia High School
21. Emmanuel A. Recanel Oro Christian Grace School
22. Agripina S. Gonzales Concepcion Juanillo Memorial Elementary School
23. Eden B. Senires Naga Hope Christian School
24. Marissa P. Merontos Bethel International School
25. Joemarie Bandejas Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
26. Hernan F. Jalon Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
27. Larry V. Lelis Blessed Lights International Christian Academy
28. Irene Ferrariz Solomon Integrated School de Iloilo
29. Nilda U. Dizon Pateros Elementary School
30. Ricardo C. Quejado Center of Excellence – Olongapo City
31. Princess Diane V. Surial San Enrique Central School – Division of Iloilo
32. Susan D. Ignacio First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities
33. Zilla B. Luza Oro Christian Grace School
34. Josephine J. Baculta Bohol International Learning Center
35. Jay Ann J. Antonio Concepcion Central School
36. Aleth M. Crucero Mina Central School – Division of Iloilo
37. Hazil P. Gumban Dapitan Elementary School - Division of Iloilo
38. Anthony Belera Holy Family School
39. Ellenbelle S. Sy Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
40. Renante D. Bendillo Learning Links Academy
41. May Jenny C. Arce?a Quinar-upan Elementary School

1. Editha Amper Corpus Christi School
2. Helen M. Tan Las Pi?as East National High School
3. Rachelle Ean Ngo MTG DEECO Training Center
4. Deo Angelo G. Agustin BESTCAP Career College, Inc.
5. Raymond Salvador MTG DEECO Training Center
6. Michelle J. Barbecena Aquinas University Science High School
7. Jose Andrey Lumbre Holy Infant College
8. Johnson Ong Gamboa MTG DEECO Training Center
9. Rashel S. Margarata Naga Hope Christian School
10. Carlo Brian Angelo Nerecena MTG DEECO Training Center
11. Sarah S. Cutamora Oro Christian Grace School
12. Angeline Carlos- Orosco MTG DEECO Training Center
13. Rizalino G. Caronan St. Paul University, Philippines
14. Ronel Baluntang Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
15. Joey Decimo Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
16. Gabriel Duyan Oro Christian Grace School
17. Omar Remendado Bohol International Learning Center
18. Christopher M. Magto Iligan City Each High School
19. Flora S. Isada Las Pi?as East National High School
20. Danilo C. Caysido Regional Science High School
21. Cecil T. Butacan Aguinaldo International School
22. Faye Sybil T. Sumalinog Sacred Heart School – Jesuit
23. Malerie Dy MTG DEECO Training Center
24. Winessa D. Canonigo Sacred Heart School – Jesuit
25. Jesus Saguinsin First Asia Institute of Technology and Humanities
26. Julie T. Herrera Iloilo Scholastic Academy
27. Samuel Gayangos Zamboanga Chong Hua High School

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services