Jan 05, 2020




2019 was undeniably another milestone year for Mathematics Trainers' Guild Phils. (MTG) and its student wards who last year bagged 433 medals in more than a dozen prestigious international math competitions.

     Their medal haul of 65 golds, 106 silvers and 262 bronzes brought to 1,236 the total number of medals won by the young numbers aces during the past two years.

     MTG kids emerged as among the top finishers in foreign math tilts in countries like China, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, Thailand, Hong Kong and South Africa.

     Dr. Simon Chua, MTG co-founder and COO, and other top officials of the non-government organization cited the math wizards anew for making the country and their respective families and schools proud.

     Chua noted that "MTG contingents of determined math enthusiasts have been giving math contests abroad their best shot, always going for excellence as they also strive to improve and set directions for themselves."

     Like Chua, Dr. Isidro Aguilar and Dr. Eduardo de la Cruz Jr., MTG president and vice president, respectively, said they were "very proud" of the students' accomplishments.

     They recalled that on March 14, 2019, over 560 MTG kids were conferred by the Department of Education with "Student Excellence Awards" during simple rites at SM Aura Premier in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig. Speaker Allan Peter Cayetano, MTG honorary chair, and DepEd representatives graced the event.

     The DepEd awardees, all medalists in math contests abroad, came from MTG's 200-plus partner public and private elementary and secondary schools nationwide.

     The educational institutions include the Philippine Science High School, Makati Sceince High School, Sen. Rene Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School, Zamboanga Chong Hua High School, St. Jude Catholic School, Xavier School – San Juan, Chiang Kai Shek College, Grace Christian College, Hope Christian High School, Philippine Academy of Sakya – Manila, St. Stephen's High School, Philippine Cultural College Manila, San Beda College-Alabang, Colegio San Agustin – MakatiAteneo de Manila High School, De La Salle Lipa, East Rembo Elementary School, Falcon School, Jubilee Christian Academy, Lourdes School of Quezon City, MGC New Life Christian Academy, Pace Academy, Philippine Institute of Quezon City, Silangan Elementary School, Southville International School and Colleges, St. Paul College Pasig, St. Pedro Poveda College, Pasig Science High School,  Taguig Science High School, University of Sto. Tomas High School, Univeristy of the Philippines Integrated School, UNO High School, Upper Bicutan National High School, Valenzuela City School of Math and Science, West Rembo Elementary School, Dr. Yanga's Colleges, Jesus is Lord Colleges Foundation, St. Mary's College of Meycauayan, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, Elizabeth Seton School, International British Academy, St. Francis of Assisi College System, University of Perpetual Help, Sta. Rosa Elementary School, Sta. Rosa Science and Technology High School and International School for Better Beginnings-Lucena, Ateneo de Manila Grade School, Ateneo de Iloilo, Ateneo de Zamboanga, University Grade School, Bacolod Tay Tung High School, Bayanihan Institute Tarlac, BHC Educational Institutional, Cebu Eastern College, Colegio San Agustin – Biñan, Davao Christian High School, De La Salle University Integrated School, De La Salle Santiago Zobel School, Divine Word Academy of Dagupan, Don Bosco Technical Institute Negros Occidental, Hope Christian High School, Holy Cross High School Dumaguete City, Hua Siong College of Iloilo, Iloilo Scholastic Academy, Immaculate Conception Academy Green Hills, Kong Hua School Cagayan de Oro City, Lanao Chung Hua School, Leyte Progressive High School, Mother Goose Special School System, Naga Hope Christian School, Oro Christian Grace School Cagayan de Oro City, PACE Academy, Palawan Hope Christian School, Pangasinan Universal Institute, Pasig Catholic College, Philippine Cultural College – Caloocan, Philippine Yuh Chiau School, Precious International School Davao City, Santiago Cultural Institute, St. Bridget College Batangas City, St. John’s Institute Bacolod, St. Joseph School of Naga City, St. Mary’s College of Quezon City, St. Peter the Apostle School, Stonyhurst Southville International School, Trinity Christian School Bacolod, University of Perpetual Help System, University of San Carlos, University of Sto. Tomas High School of Legazpi, Xavier School – Nuvali, Xavier University Cagayan de Oro City among others.

     Meanwhile, MTG training teams are looking forward to the group's annual intensive in-house training programs for prospective members of math teams that will represent the Philippines in various contests this year.

     The training programs are scheduled as follows: for Visayas and Mindanao students -- March 28 to 31; Northern Luzon and parts of southern Luzon -- April 1 to 4; and National Capital Region and other parts of Southern Luzon -- April 5 to 8.

     A separate Science Camp in cooperation with Philippine Board of Studies Foundation will be held on March 23 to 26 in Tagaytay City, according to MTG.

     Established in 1995, MTG remains "committed to its mandate of promoting excellence in math education and training in the country, as well as upgrading the disciplines to meet high international standards," Chua emphasized.

     MTG officers, contest team leaders, coaches and staff  have expressed optimism that 2020 will be "another great year for the organization and its student trainees."

    Other MTG stalwarts, commended by Chua for their "dedicated service," include Manuel Kotah, Myrna Agtarap, Renard Eric Chua, Eugenia Guerra, Robert Degolacion, Joseph Wee, Aldwin Sahirul, Ivan Aguilar, Minerva Bianca Avencilla, Harry Uy, Angeline Orosco, Alfred Orosco, Arvie Ubarro, Edmond Reyes, Dolores Reyes, Quennie Sarabia, Jonathan Glorial, Lucy Sia, Josephine Sy Tan, Anthony Ang, Joel Cardinal, Emmanuel Lance Christopher Plan, Kerish Villegas, Hazel Shisome MTG elite and MTG center coordinators among others.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services