Aug 03, 2021

By Jerry E. Esplanada
The 39-member Philippine team, composed of young numbers aces from public and private schools nationwide, won a total of 28 medals and 16 other awards in the just-ended Indonesia International Mathematics Competition (IIMC).
     The math wizards bagged 3 gold. 7 silver and 18 bronze medals, as well as 16 merit certificates in the 30-nation virtual contest, held July 27 to 31.
     The students are wards of the non-government Mathematics Trainers' Guild Phils. (MTG), established in 1995 to promote excellence in math education that meet global standards.
     In the IIMC's Key Stage II or elementary level, China was declared overall champion, followed by Vietnam and the Philippines.
     In Key Stage III or high school level, Bulgaria placed first, followed by Singapore and Taiwan.
     Other competing countries include the US, Russia, Australia, United Arab Emirates, Ghana, Hong Kong, India, Mexico, Malaysia, Romania, Thailand, South Korea, South Africa, Bolivia and Iran, among others.
     The Philippines' lone individual gold medalist was Chelsea Kistanna Tan, Grade 6 student of the Davao Christian High School. The two other gold medals came from the team contests.
     The silver medals were won by Mohammad Nur Casib of Philippine Science High School  Central Mindanao Campus; Lance Gabriel Madrazo of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; Ellison Matthew Ang and Kate Dominique Siaco, both from St. Jude Catholic School; Benjamin Jacob and John David Magnaye, both from Philippine Science High School  Main Campus, and  Ervin Joshua Bautista of Southville International School.
     The bronze medalists were Jared Ng of Grace Christian College; Walsh Nico Letran, Alvan Paredes Dy and Claire  Mitzi Acosta, all from St. Jude Catholic School; Jia Ruth Condino of Integrated Montessori Center Taguig; Shaun Lawrence Poh Leung of St. Stephen's High School; Zion Earl Carmelo Uy of Ateneo de Manila; Feivel Pulusan of Hope Christian High School; Jan Francis Tamanu of St. Edward School Imus Campus; Jance Enrico de la Fuente of Philippine Science High School  Main Campus; Luke Sebastin Sy of Grace Christian College; Christopher James Yap of St. John's Institute Bacolod City; Erich Paredes of International School Manila; and Neo Gatlabayan of British School Manila.
     The merit awardees were Caitlin Lopingco of St. John's Institute; Shaun Jacob Cua of Xavier School San Juan; Alexander Peter Benedict Lomibao of Ateneo de Manila; Brent Anderson Ping of Tarlac  Living Faith Academy; Adrienne Geraldine Co of  Immaculate Conception Academy San Juan; Maria Samantha Cristobal of Ateneo de Iloilo; Grian Abiel Bautista of St. Mary's College Valenzuela; Justin Aaron Co of St. Jude Catholic School; Gabriel Bonifacioof St. Louis College Valenzuela; Paul Vincent Navarro of Stonyhurst  Southville International School and Maricier Carambas of Morning Star Montessori School Calamba City, and Armea Helena Dimayacyac of Philippine Science High School, among others.
     Dr. Simon Chua, MTG co-founder and CEO, cited the team members for giving the IIMC their best shot, adding "they made not just their families and schools proud but also the country."
     The Philippine team leaders are Arvie Ubarro, Minerva Bianca Avecilla, Kerish Villegas and Joel Edward Cardinal.
     Last year, MTG-trained math wizards won a total of 1,789 medals, including 230 golds, in 14 foreign contests.

Copyright 2008 Mathematics Trainers' Guild, Philippines. All Rights Reserved
Powered by Cid Systems Solution Services